Between the Covers / Shhhh... we're reading.   Photo of reading after bedtime
RSS this blog



+ Fiction

+ Nonfiction


+ Fiction



+ Fiction

+ Nonfiction

Author Interviews


BCPL Reading Challenge

Free Play With BCPL

In the News

New Next Week

Popcorn Reviews With BCPL


   TV Shows 

ALA Youth Media Awards Announced

posted by: February 12, 2018 - 11:54am

The most prestigious awards for teen and children's literature were announced by the American Library Association in Denver earlier this morning. Awards were given in a wide range of categories that covered all formats and age levels. A complete list of awards, winners and honorees can be found in this morning's press release from the American Library Association.


Cover Art for Wolf in the SnowThe Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. This year’s winner is Wolf in the Snow, illustrated and written by Matthew Cordell. This near-wordless picture book employs pen and ink with watercolor illustrations to quietly tell a story of kindness. Caldecott Honor winners include Big Cat, Little Cat, illustrated and written by Elisha Cooper; Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, illustrated by Gordon C. James, written by Derrick Barnes; and A Different Pond, illustrated by Thi Bui, written by Bao Phi.Cover Art for Hello Universe


The oldest of the medals, the John Newbery Medal, is awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. This year’s medal recipient is Erin Entrada Kelly for Hello Universe, a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Three Newbery Honor Books also were named: Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut written by Derrick Barnes, Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds and Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson.


Cover Art for We Are OkayThe Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit. This year’s winner is We Are Okay written by Nina LaCour, which The New York Times Books Review noted was “Short, poetic and gorgeously written. . . . The world LaCour creates is fragile but profoundly humane.” Four Printz Honor Books also were named: The Hate U Give, written by Angie Thomas; Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds; Strange the Dreamer, written by Laini Taylor; and Vincent and Theo: The Van Gogh Brothers, written by Deborah Heiligman.Cover Art for Piecing Me Together


The Coretta Scott King Awards are given to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. Renee Watson had quite a Monday as her novel, Piecing Me Together, was a Newbery Honor and she was named the King Author Award Winner. Three King Author Honor Books were also named: Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, written by Derrick Barnes; Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds; and The Hate U Give, written by Angie Thomas.


Cover Art for Out of WonderOut of Wonder: Poems Celebrating Poets, illustrated by Ekua Holmes, is the King Illustrator Award winner. Booklist said the book was a “fresh and joyful way to introduce children to poetry.” Two King Illustrator Honor Books also were named: Crown: An Ode to a Fresh Cut, illustrated by Gordon C. James, written by Derrick Barnes (giving that wonderful book a hat trick for the day!), and Before She Was Harriet: The Story of Harriet Tubman, illustrated by James E. Ransome and written by Lesa Cline-Ransome.  


Baltimore County Public Library has all of these titles in our collection — place a hold on one or more today!


Revised: February 12, 2018